A Love Letter to Myself

I stumbled upon this note written back in November of last year and I simply wanted to share it with you.

My mother gave me a note back in 2003 when I set off to embark on a new journey in life.  This was more of closing a chapter that had never been and off to school I went to earn my degree.  I have never forgotten this note, nor its message.  To this day, I still have the little poem that was enclosed in the note.  It is one of those messages that has always stuck out as possibly the “best” I have ever received in this life.  It has become more apparent to me as years stroll by how utterly important it really is.  It has become the “love letter” to myself.  So I wanted to share it with those that are in my life, who were in my life, and who are yet to be a part of my life.  This is from Marianne Williamson, a poet and a spiritual leader, and for years I too thought it was from Nelson Mandela (Inaugural Speech).  So thank you for these words that have stuck with me all these years.  They have been etched in my soul!  I hope that for those that are in my life and take the time to read this, that you find it to be as inspirational as I do.  ❤ and light!

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.  Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.  It is our light, not our darkness That most frightens us.  We ask ourselves Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be?  You are a child of God.  Your playing small  Does not serve the world.  There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking So that other people won’t feel insecure around you.  We are all meant to shine,  As children do.  We were born to make manifest  The glory of God that is within us.  It’s not just in some of us;  It’s in everyone.  And as we let our own light shine,  We unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.  As we’re liberated from our own fear,  Our presence automatically liberates others.”  ~ Marianne Williamson

2 thoughts on “A Love Letter to Myself

  1. Diane

    I appreciate that you have shared with all of us. Your Love Letter, Thank you!… I love who I am I do know its hard for some people to love themselves for who they are…I’m not perfect not at all and really that wouldn’t be possible for anyone to accomplish and to me it would be boring . But what I’ve learned to do is to pick out the things about myself that make me and others, feel good or that I love or like about myself I have quiet a lot but then I also have somethings I don’t like about myself and I’m always working on them!…Everyone has something they love about themselves if they take the time and search deep inside themselves… God put it inside all of us, it’s your job to discover it!..Everyone gives some kind of gift to the world….just my opinion!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

