Spring and Summer in Winter? Why not?!

Spring and Summer in Winter?  Why not?

Okay… there seems to be a common theme here on this blog and that would be one of always being late sharing with what is going on in my life!  LOL  Some things-never change!  😉  Truly!

Anyhoo, my life, surely with all of the ups and downs, is nothing less than pure magic!  The reason being- I have two of the most incredible, fun loving, spunky (granted sometimes too spunky for their own good), talented, goofy, beautiful, and inspiring children any mommy could ask for and I am reaching for my dreams daily.  The latter is something that could not be achieved without the most amazing support system a woman, a single mother, and an artist could ask for-  my family!

I often go back through my thousands of photos stored on my phone and I can’t help but laugh at all of the adventures we seem to have together.  It is a double edge sword in many respects when you think about the technology we have today versus oh let us say, back when we, rather I, were kids.  The awesome part, as you all know, is the ability to capture with a simple “click” the most mundane parts of our lives; but then, we have those moments, whereas we would describe “perfect moments” we are able to forever store and then share away with the world.  I often feel so guilty that I have so many of my youngest, “Boo” aka “Boomeister” and well, hardly any of my beautiful sunshine, my eldest, my butterfly, “Lindsarie!”  The truth of the matter when she was younger, none of this existed.  I have to chuckle with the thought of having to take the film rolls into Walgreens to get developed and hope like heck you got one good and decent picture of the birthday party; or the toothless grin; or the family gathering where all eyes are open.  There were no re-dos back then!  You couldn’t glimpse at a moment’s notice of the photos taken to check on the lighting, or the composition, or to “zoom” in on the family expressions and in being honest, to look at ourselves and deciding if we like the way we look in that particular picture!  So our family album is meek by comparison and mostly secure and house the infamous double exposure pic, alongside with red, demon eyes from the flash of the camera, well, from those that had their eyes open, and naturally mostly out of focus shots.  AND for the love of GOD, all my attempts at trying to decorate the photo pages and covers (something that was popular back then) AND something I did NOT master!  Oh, lord they are hideous!!!  WTH was I thinking? No seriously, I am just too embarrassed to show the pics of the flowery patterns with the glued on lace edges.  I mean it is important to decorate those edges with some white, frilly lace to hang off the edge of the album!  Yes, folks that is something I tend to stay clear off; but is necessary at times…so you can insert the sarcastic tone here.  😉

But why the double edge sword?  Because EVERYTHING gets chronicled now!  And this folks is where yet another mountain of “guilt” comes into your life when you have children.  My mother was correct in stating that opinion!  However, my eldest made me feel so much better when I told her how guilty I feel that all of my social media accounts consist pretty much of baked goods for Boo’s class (it’s a mommy thing), Boo and my art-literally those three categories!  Occasionally she is sprinkled in when she visits from college.  LOL  She was relieved that it didn’t exist when she was growing up to avoid being on display, every moment this mommy thinks is cute.  Now mind you, my daughter, Lindsay, is the social media queen who has thousands of tweets and pics, and more tweets and more pics.  I guess I have to admit her account is just a “tad” different than what mine would entail if I could capture her growing up like I have her sissy.  So she relieved the guilt from my mind.  I love her for that!  The truth to the matter is I did all of the things I do for her younger sister with her too minus the ability to share to the world with a quick click of the mouse.  The funny thing though …. which she has no idea of…. she is about to graduate from college!  HEH! HEH!  And if she makes the mistake of moving back to our hometown, it is “On like Donkey Kong!”

The cool thing is that some day, I hope, when my kids get older, they will be able to take this virtual walk down memory lane of their mom’s life and all of the beauty that surrounds and engulfs it! I want them to see how lucky I am to have them, to have this life I have been given, with all the trials and tribulations, and the roller coaster ride one takes when going after their dreams.  It is AMAZING and I wouldn’t change it!  And I hope by sharing these snippets/pictures of my life, it causes you to stop and smile and embrace this crazy ride called life!

Now here it comes, a glimpse into my life of the last few months of adventure?  Yes, of course, this was already covered:  Goodies, Boo and Art with a sprinkle of others!! lol

 

Spring:  Trip to St. Augustine 

Cheese

Cheese

Posing at the Fort

Posing at the Fort

Mommy daughter Selfie

Mommy daughter Selfie

 

 

 

 

 

Spring:  Natural Life Musical Festival 2014

Natural Life Musical Festival 2014

Boo and I

Natural Life Musical Festival 2014

The Three Musketeers

Natural Life Musical Festival 2014

Hippy in the making

Natural Life Musical Festival 2014

The Boo

Natural Life Musical Festival 2014

My mamacita

Natural Life Musical Festival 2014

Hoo! Hoo!

 

 

 

 

Natural Life Musical Festival 2014

I love you

 

 

 

 

 

Springtime Walks and Treasures found

Just Because mom ALWAYS has a camera ready

Just Because mom ALWAYS has a camera ready

Posing for Mama

Posing for Mama

Five Leaf Clovers DO exist

Five Leaf Clovers DO exist

 

 

 

 

 

 

Summertime (July) Birthday Celebration

Birthday girl

Birthday girl celebrating her 8th year on this planet

Striking Poses

Striking Poses

Yes, this is what WE do in public!!

Yes, this is what WE do in public!!

Goofing off

Goofing off

Cupcake time

Cupcake time

 

 

 

 

Of course...my goodies for Boo!  Doesn't she look so excited?  lol

Of course…my goodies for Boo! Doesn’t she look so excited? lol

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There is something to be said about, “Wanting less and being more”.  It is where the child teaches the parent, and the simplest things are the best!  I don’t want for “things” rather, I long for “moments” like these.  Where every day life happens and it is in these moments that I am reminded to “breathe” and “just be”.

Isn't she lovely?

Isn’t she lovely?

Boo does my nails

Boo does my nails

Enough Said

Enough Said

 

 

 

 

 

August rolls around and we venture out on a road trip to GA.  We jammed out to the radio, played silly games, laughed at names such as “Withlacoochee” (well I did and yes, I am a child)!  LOL  But c’mon how hilarious is that name??  And there was Dahlonega, and waterslides at Lake Lanier, and a trip to Stone Mountain.  It was a nice break from the usual routine where I get to be more of a kid then normal.  😉

Here we come GA!

Here we come GA!

Campsite View

Campsite View

1st Campsite

1st Campsite

I LOVE nature!

I LOVE nature!

The Flowers Boo picked for me..uh, yeah I melted!

The Flowers Boo picked for me..uh, yeah I melted!

Boo being an animal of course!

Boo being an animal of course!

Mi Familia!  My heart, my daddy!

Mi Familia! My heart, my daddy!

Conquering Stone Mountain

Conquering Stone Mountain

Taking a break at the top!

Taking a break at the top!

Playing on the mountain top

Playing on the mountain top

This girl... Amazing!

This girl… Amazing!

Hope you feel small standing on the top of a mountain

Hope you feel small standing on the top of a mountain

 

 

Stone Mountain

Stone Mountain

 

 

Me playing with phone apps LOL

Me playing with phone apps LOL

Car ride between stops = selfie boredom

Car ride between stops = selfie boredom

Car ride between stops = selfie boredom

Car ride between stops = selfie boredom

Car ride between stops = selfie boredom

Car ride between stops = selfie boredom

Car ride between stops = selfie boredom

Car ride between stops = selfie boredom

2nd Campsite "That view"

2nd Campsite “That view”

2nd Campsite view

2nd Campsite view

2nd Campsite

2nd Campsite

 

 

Boo with a Bow & Arrow-help us

Boo with a Bow & Arrow-help us

Selfie with daddy

Selfie with daddy

Lake Lanier Love

Lake Lanier Love

Lake Lanier beach time

Lake Lanier beach time

Lake Lanier I get to be a kid again!

Lake Lanier I get to be a kid again!

Digging for Gold er...expensive rocks!  lol

Digging for Gold er…expensive rocks! lol

Goldmine selfie

Goldmine selfie

Yes I MADE her pose for me again :)

Yes I MADE her pose for me again 🙂

CHEESE

CHEESE

 

 

Ice cream and shopping. I mean camping!

Ice cream and shopping. I mean camping!

Fun little find… was this piece of the ‘Berlin Wall’ smack dab in the middle of Georgia.

Piece of the Berlin Wall

Piece of the Berlin Wall

 

 

 

 

 

And then there is the 1st day of 3rd grade, where it is a MUST that I get their picture before they head out the door- duh!

1st day of 3rd grade

1st day of 3rd grade

 

 

 

 

 

There is something that is so precious about taking strolls with her.  We walk, and talk, and giggle, and skip, and solve each other’s problems, and marvel at all God has created, and I would be lying if I didn’t tell you that they are almost always sprinkled with, “Oh my God mom it is so hot!”  “Are we there yet?”  “I am tired (after fifty steps)!”  “I am so sweaty!”  “Mom, slow down!”  Even with these squished into our time together in nature, I know she enjoys it because she still wants to go the next time and often forces me out.  I am always so thankful when we get to do this and I have to admit, I do get quite cranky when the “work outs” cease to exist in my schedule.  Truthfully, I long for her to want to start running with me!!  Even with the slight meltdowns, it is all worth it to get these fun pics capturing our adventure together.

Selfie 1

Selfie 1

Selfie 2

Selfie 2

Selfie 3

Selfie 3

Selfie 4

Selfie 4

Collage

Collage

Gateway

Gateway

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We visit my mommy’s and in the process discover a “gem” of history:  two books my grandmother had given my cousin when he was just a young lad.  I am so delighted my little one loves to read and we wasted no time diving into these fun and distinctively written mysteries!  And to be honest it wasn’t just getting the books that brought back a sense of nostalgia.  It was seeing my grandmother’s writing.  Something that represented her, me, my childhood, all deliciously wrapped up into all of the loopety loops and swirls.  It was a wonderful floodgate of precious memories of her.  I cherish those tiny moments and as I glanced over and saw Boo sitting there on my mommy’s couch, I wondered would there be “that” day that she too, will have a similar moment so uniquely to her and tied to my mom?  I couldn’t help to capture the moment!

Visit to my mom's

Visit to my mom’s

Encyclopedia Brown

Encyclopedia Brown

 

 

 

 

 

Fall comes before we know it and there are so many things happening:  The Awards Ceremony honoring her A/B Honor Roll and Perfect Attendance; festivals in town; stumbling upon my favorite seasonal cereals in Walmart and yes, I busted a move; to making her pose again for me!  🙂

Award Ceremony

Award Ceremony

OP Fall Festival

OP Fall Festival

SCORE

SCORE

Posing Boo

Posing Boo

I start more painting projects.  You know to add to my ADD of unfinished one’s in the studio!  Yes, these have a ton more layers to go and I am still waiting for Lindsay to send me a pic of her to finish out the trio….waiting…waiting…waiting…zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz!!

Savannah

Savannah

Me

Me

 

 

 

 

 

Boo gets creative with the packing bubbles when my art supplies arrive.  That folks is the Chinese Dragon, and pretty damn creative if you ask me!!

Boo is so Creative

Boo is so Creative

 

 

 

 

 

And this post wouldn’t be complete without showing you the hat she wore for the “favorite hat at school day”

Favorite Hat

Favorite Hat

 

 

 

 

 

October 2014

It is too weird for me to get my mind around my sweet, crazy and goofy Boo bear wanting to be a Vampiress for Halloween!  She got a tad into the role and with no hesitation, came out of her shell to even walk like her and make the scary noises.  The funny part was when she would slide right back into the adorable Boo and in the little sweet girl like voice say “thank you” and skipped away to the next house!  Ha!

Halloween 2014

Halloween 2014Halloween 2014

Halloween 2014

Halloween 2014

Halloween 2014

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What makes me so happy?  When I get to make goodies for the kids at school, of course!  I look forward to any reason to do something and when a holiday rolls around, it is an easy peasy excuse for the sugar high to begin!  This Halloween was no exception and we decided to make  “Minion” cupcakes.

Minion Cupcakes

Minion Cupcakes

 

 

 

 

 

So this brings this blog up to speed in the quick snap of the last few months as “the mums!”

I am grateful!  I am blessed!  AND with that I wish all of you to have your own walk down memory lanes.  To smile, to laugh, and yes, even cry as you look back at those beloved pics you were able to capture on your little gadgets!

 

~ ❤ & light ~

Leave a Reply

